Open Accessibility Menu

Understanding the Stages of Alzheimer’s

  • Posted On:
Understanding the Stages of Alzheimer’s

The 3 Stages of Alzheimer’s

According to the Alzheimer’s Association, Alzheimer’s affects more than 5 million Americans. In fact, this form of dementia is one of the leading causes of death for seniors, claiming more lives than breast cancer and prostate cancer. With such shockingly high statistics, it is essential to recognize the early signs of the degenerative disease and how it progresses.


The early-stage of Alzheimer’s disease often go unnoticed because, for the most part, the affected person can still maintain their independence and seem to be doing okay. However, on the inside, they may be feeling that they are having issues with their memory and struggling with day-to-day activities.

Some early warning signs may include:

  • Forgetting recently learned information.
  • Asking repetitive questions.
  • Not knowing what the date or day of the week is.
  • Losing or misplacing items.
  • Trouble making plans.


The middle-stage tends to be the longest stage of Alzheimer’s, lasting for many years and often reaching a point where the affected individual requires more assistance and care. During this stage, signs and symptoms become more apparent as the brain continues to experience damage to its nerve cells.

Symptoms may include:

  • Increased irritability and anger.
  • Forgetting events in their life.
  • Forgetting personal information like their address, phone number, or where they went to school.
  • Not dressing appropriately for the season.
  • Trouble controlling their bladder and bowels.
  • Behavioral changes.


The late-stage of Alzheimer’s is the last and most severe stage of the disease. During this stage, carrying on conversations becomes increasingly difficult because the affected individual has lost a majority of their memory and cognitive function. This also means that the affected individual is most likely in need of extensive care.

During this stage, symptoms typically include:

  • Loss of awareness of their surroundings.
  • Losing physical abilities like walking.
  • Difficulty expressing thoughts.
  • Increased vulnerability to infections.

Treatment in Ridgecrest, California

At Ridgecrest Regional Hospital, our team of trained professionals are dedicated to providing services with maximum independence and dignity to seniors of the Indian Wells Valley and the Rand District with Kern County. To learn more about our senior services or schedule an appointment, visit our website or give us a call at 760-446-3551.